
MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY
AUTHORITY FOR ONLINE LICENSE REGISTRATION

Beginning with the 2015 license renewal period, in December 2014, The Mississippi State Board of Public
Accountancy (MSBPA) prescribed the online MSBPA Licensing and Reporting System (LARS) as the only allowable
method to renew, register, or reinstate a certified public accountant license, firm permit, and CPA-retired status,
or to file a CPA examination application. The Board’s authority for this requirement comes from the following
Statute and the Board’s Rules and Regulations as follows:

MISSISSIPPI PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY STATUTES
§ 73-33-5 POWERS AND DUTIES OF BOARD; EXAMINATIONS; STANDARDS OF PRACTICE
The Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy is hereby authorized with the following powers and duties:
. . . (f) To adopt and enforce such rules and regulations concerning certified public accountant examinee and
licensee qualifications and practices and certified public accountant firm permits and practices as the board
considers necessary to maintain the highest standard of proficiency in the profession of certified public accounting
and for the protection of the public interest. . . .

AND:

§ 73-33-7 EXPENSES, HOW PAID; CERTIFICATE AND REGISTRATION FEES; EXEMPTIONS

2) Except as provided in Section 33-1-39, on or before January 1 of each year, each holder of a certified public
accountant license issued by the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy shall register and pay a reasonable
annual registration fee in such amount as to be determined by the board. If any certified public accountant fails to
register and pay the annual registration fee on or before January 1, notice of such default shall be sent to the
certified public accountant by certified mail to the delinquent registrant's last known address as shown by the
records of the board. The license of any certified public accountant who fails to register and pay the annual
registration fee within ten (10) days after notice is given shall be automatically cancelled, and the board shall enter
the cancellation on its records.

AND:

Title 30 Part 1: Rules and Regulations of the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy.
Rule 2.3. Registration
Rule 2.3.1. Each CPA license holder shall be required to register and to pay an annual registration fee on or

before the first day of January each year. Application for such registration shall be made on
forms prescribed by the Board, and the registration fee shall be determined under the Board’s
Schedule of Fees in effect as of the date of the application.

Excerpt from Schedule of Fees (Last page of the Board Rules and Regulations) Effective 11/1/2015:
In addition to the renewal, application and other fees listed above, 3rd party service providers may charge:
transaction fees for use of credit card or e-check; and “e-Government” fees for development and maintenance of
websites and online licensing and database applications on behalf of the Board.

Effective November 1, 2015, the CPA license fee was set at $110.00, which goes to MSBPA to renew your CPA

license. The other charges totaling $5.49, were charged by 3
rd

party service providers: $2.49 credit card fee,

$2.00 for Mississippi E-Gov Fees, and $1.00 to Mississippi Department of Information Technology Services.



You must complete your online renewal application and submit with the appropriate fees on or before January 1,
2016. Licenses Expire December 31 of each year.

CPA License Registration received after January 1, 2016, must be accompanied by a $150 late fee in addition to the
normal registration fee and the service fees charged by 3

rd
parties.

If your online renewal is not received on or before February 19, 2016, the Board will enter the default into its
record. Notice of such default was sent by certified mail on February 3, 2016, to the last known address of record
with automatic cancellation if registration is not received within ten days after notice is given.


