
Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy 
Continuing Professional Education 

Compliance Period Ending June 30, 2016 
Online CPE Reporting 

 
Only CPAs with an Active license status may complete the online CPE Reporting Form. Online Reporting of continuing 

professional education (CPE) for the twelve months ending June 30, 2016, is now available. 

 

You will be required to log on through the secure link below on the MSBPA website by entering your CPA license 

number, your first name, your last name, and the last four digits of your social security number. 

 

Log on to the MSBPA CPE Portal (secure link) by clicking here: 

https://www.msbpa.webapps.ms.gov/CPE/ 

 

After you log on, you may Print/View your 2014 and/or 2015 CPE report, or click on Start/Continue current CPE to enter 

your CPE hours for the current year (2016). Enter your individual CPE courses and hours earned in the current 

compliance period (from July 1, 2015, through June 30, 2016). Next you will enter your total CPE hours carried-in from 

prior periods (60 hours maximum).  

 

After electronically signing the Affidavit on the CPE report, please print or save a copy of the completed 2016 CPE report 

for your records.  

 

To finish the process, click on the “Submit” button, and your 2016 CPE data will be securely transmitted to MSBPA. After 

submission, a “Success” page will appear, and you also have the option to print that page.  

 

You may log back in to the CPE portal any time before the filing deadline on to add additional hours or to correct errors. 

 

Reporting Due Date 

Your online 2016 CPE Reporting at the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy CPE Portal is due on or 

before August 1, 2016. 

 

 

(Continued on next page) 

 

 

Continuing Professional Education Requirements 

https://www.msbpa.webapps.ms.gov/CPE/


The CPE compliance requirement for the twelve months ending June 30, 2016, is a minimum forty (40) 

CPE credit hours. Only twenty (20) hours of CPE credit hours carried-in may be applied to the forty hour 

requirement. The other 20 hours must be earned in the current compliance period (“20 hour minimum 

rule”). Chapter 4 of the Rules and Regulations and the Board’s website provide complete CPE 

compliance information. 

 

Ethics CPE: Four (4) CPE credit hours in Ethics, Professional Conduct, Public Accountancy Law and Regulations [ethics] 

must be earned and reported for the triennial period July 1, 2013, through June 30, 2016. A minimum of one (1) of 

these ethics CPE credit hours must be in the Mississippi Public Accountancy Law, Rules and Regulations. These ethics 

CPE credit hours must be Board approved in order for a CPA to retain the credit. Any ethics hours previously reported to 

the Board as ethics CPE is deemed used and will not count toward hours carried-in to 2016. Ethics CPE, earned in the 

current period, but not approved by the Board, will not satisfy your ethics CPE requirement. In order to have hours 

qualified as ethics CPE, an approval request should be submitted to the Board by either the CPE sponsor or the 

individual CPA.  

 

The Application for CPE Program Approval can be found at this link: 

http://www.msbpa.ms.gov/Documents/Application%20for%20CPE%20Approval.pdf 

 

The Board’s listing of approved ethics CPE programs for the triennial period July 1, 2013, through June 

30, 2016, can be found at this link: 

http://www.msbpa.ms.gov/Documents/2014%20to%202016%20Approved_Ethics_Courses.pdf 

 

In accordance the Board Rules and Regulations, a CPA will not be permitted to register a license if not in compliance with 

the CPE requirements. In addition, a CPA must report CPE to the Board online even if the number reported is zero. A 

blank online CPE reporting form will be interpreted as zero CPE credit hours. Please be aware that a CPA who fails to 

complete and report the minimum CPE credit hours accrued during the applicable reporting period could be subject to 

Trial Board disciplinary action. 

 

Contact Information 

Please call the Board office should you have any questions about online CPE reporting or about CPE compliance. 

Telephone: 601-354-7320, or 601-354-7291 

Email:    email@msbpa.ms.gov ,  or   compliance@msbpa.ms.gov 
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