
Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy
Continuing Professional Education
Compliance Period Ending June 30, 2015

Online CPE Reporting

Only CPAs with and Active license status may complete the online CPE Reporting Form.

You will be required to log on through a secure link on the MSBPA website by entering your CPA license

number, your first name, your last name, and the last four digits of your social security number.

Printing 2015 CPE Report: After you add (enter) all of your classes for the current year, and have

entered your hours carried-in, you will go to the “Review and Submit” page. Remember to click on the

“print” button before you “click on the “submit” button.

Log on to the MSBPA CPE Portal (secure link) by clicking here:

https://www.msbpa.webapps.ms.gov/CPE/

After you log on, you may Print/View your 2014 CPE report, or click onStart/Continue current CPE to

enter your CPE hours for the current year (2015).

Online Reporting of continuing professional education (CPE) for the twelve months ending June 30,

2015, will be available beginning Monday, June 15, 2015. You must log on to the Board CPE Reporting

Portal and enter your individual CPE courses and hours earned in the current compliance period (from

July 1, 2014, through June 30, 2015). Next you will enter your total CPE hours carried-in from prior

periods (60 hours maximum). After electronically signing the Affidavit on the CPE report, and clicking on

the “Submit” button, your 2015 CPE data will be securely transmitted to MSBPA. Please print or save a

copy of the completed CPE report for your records. You may log back on to add additional hours or to

correct errors.

Reporting Due Date
Your online CPE Reporting at the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy CPE Portal is due on or
before August 1, 2015.

Continuing Professional Education Requirements
The CPE compliance requirement for the twelve months ending June 30, 2015, is a minimum forty (40)
CPE credit hours. Only twenty (20) hours of CPE credit hours carried-in may be applied to the forty hour
requirement. The other 20 hours must be earned in the current compliance period (“20 hour minimum
rule”). Chapter 4 of the Rules and Regulations and the Board’s website provide complete CPE
compliance information.

Ethics CPE: Four (4) CPE credit hours in Ethics, Professional Conduct, Public Accountancy Law and

Regulations [ethics] must be earned and reported for the triennial period July 1, 2013, through June 30,



2016. A minimum of one (1) of these ethics CPE credit hours must be in the Mississippi Public

Accountancy Law, Rules and Regulations.

These ethics CPE credit hoursmust be Board approved in order for a CPA to retain the credit. Any ethics

hours previously reported to the Board as ethics CPE is deemed used and will not count toward hours

carried-in to 2015. Ethics CPE, earned in the current period, but not approved by the Board, will not

satisfy your ethics CPE requirement. In order to have hours qualified as ethics CPE, an approval request

should be submitted to the Board by either the CPE sponsor or the individual CPA.

The Application for CPE Program Approval can be found at this link:

http://www.msbpa.ms.gov/Documents/Application%20for%20CPE%20Approval.pdf

The Board’s listing of approvedethics CPE programs for the triennial period July 1, 2013, through June

30, 2016, can be found at this link:

http://www.msbpa.ms.gov/Documents/2014%20to%202016%20Approved_Ethics_Courses.pdf

In accordance the Board Rules and Regulations, a CPA will not be permitted to register a license if not in

compliance with the CPE requirements. In addition, a CPA must report CPE to the Board online even if

the number reported is zero. A blank online CPE reporting form will be interpreted as zero CPE credit

hours. Please be aware that a CPA who fails to complete and report the minimum CPE credit hours

accrued during the applicable reporting period could be subject to Trial Board disciplinary action.

Contact Information

Please call the Board office should you have any questions about online CPE reporting or about CPE

compliance.

Telephone: 601-354-7320, or 601-354-7291

Email: email@msbpa.ms.gov , or compliance@msbpa.ms.gov


