MISSISSIPPI STATE BOARD
OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY INITIAL APPLICATION

5 OLD RIVER PLACE, SUITE 104 FOR CPA EXAMINATION

JACKSON, MS 39202-3449 (Effective October 19, 2013)
(601) 354-7320 (601)354-7290 FAX
www.msbpa.ms.gov  email@msbpa.ms.gov

» Read carefully the Rules and Regulations concerning requirements to sit for the CPA examination and the Instructions for Applicants. In addition to other
requirements, individuals must be State residents in order to apply and sit as a Mississippi candidate. »

Please complete front and back of the application. SUBMIT A COPY OF YOUR CURRENT DRIVER'S LICENSE.

Application Status: O Initial (First-Time Applicants Only)

Name, SSN and Birth Information: (Must match your official identification) Initial Appli cants
O Mr. 0O Ms. O Mrs. O Employed O Student
Affix a current 2x2 Face/Shoulder

First Middle Last photograph of yourself here.
Maiden/Previous Suffix Mother’s Maiden Name Passport quality required.
Social Security Number Date of Birth Place of Birth
Residence Address: Employer Name and Address:
City State Zip City State Zip
Residence Telephone: Business Telephone:
Personal Email: Business Email:
Examination Test Sections Applying For: Board Application Fee:
O Auditing & Attestation (AUD) $192.03 O Initial application only $ 150.00
O Business Environment & Concepts (BEC) 172.51
O Financial Accounting & Reporting (FAR) 192.03
O Regulation (REG) 172.51

O Grade Transfer Fee 50.00

(required when transferring from other states)

Subtotal for Examination Test Sections: $ Subtotal for Board fees: $

Total Amount Due $

Check or Money Order No.

List preferred sit date(s) (for Board information only); actual scheduling will be done through Prometric:

Section Date Section Date Section Date Section Date

A | | Bec | [ FAR | [reg |

Please list the testing center(s) that you intend to schedule at: O Jackson, MS O Tupelo, MS O Other

(If a preferred testing center is outside Mississippi, provide an explanation below for its use rather than the two in-state centers.)

Over 2>




APPLICATION FOR CPA EXAMINATION (Effective October 19, 2013)

Name: SSN:

» Are you a resident of the State of Mississippi? O Yes 00 No  Date residency began:
If yes, Submit proof of residency (if not on file in Board office)

» Have you ever taken the CPA examination? O Yes 0O No  If yes, list the state(s)/date(s)
(These grades must be transferred to the Mississippi Board using an Authorization for Interstate Exchange of Exam and Licensure Information form.)

» Have you ever been denied permission to take the CPA examination for a reason other than not meeting the educational
requirements? O Yes O No. If yes, provide detailed information.

» Have you ever changed your name (including marriage)? O Yes ONo If yes, attach a copy of the legal documentation if not on file.
» Are you under indictment? O Yes ONo If yes, please attach related documents.

» Have you ever been convicted of or pleaded no contest to a criminal misdemeanor or felony? O Yes ONo
If yes, attach a factual description, court involved, disposition, copy of related documents, and the current status.

» Do you require special accommodations due to a disability or special need? O Yes ONo Please explain on a separate sheet.

INITIAL APPLICANTS ONLY - List colleges and/or universities attended.

Total Upper Division
Semester & Graduate Hours
College or University Attended Degree Date Hours Business Accounting

List all courses below to satisfy the 48/24 upper division/graduate level accounting concentration requirement

Satisfies
Semester specific subject
Course Name University Hours requirements

As presented above, I satisfy Mississippi’s education requirements including a minimum 150 semester hours of college education including a minimum
baccalaureate degree with at least 48 semester hours in upper division or graduate level accounting and business courses from an accredited
university(ies). Within that 48 hours, I satisfy at least a minimum 24 semester hours in upper division or graduate level accounting including at least one 3
semester hour course in the following subjects: a. financial accounting, b. auditing, c. taxation, d. management/cost accounting, and e. government/not-
for-profit accounting.

Under penalty of perjury, I certify to the truth and accuracy of statements and representations made in this application. Iunderstand and agree that I will not
divulge the nature or content of any examination question or answer to any individual or entity. I will report to the Board any solicitations or disclosures of
which I become aware. I will not remove or attempt to remove any materials from the examination room. Failure to comply with this attestation may result in
my examination scores being invalidated, disqualification from future exams, and facing possible civil and criminal penalties. I authorize the Board to relay
examination information to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) for the sole purpose of the national scheduling exam data base.
I have read the Board’s qualification requirements for examination candidates and license holders, Information for Applicants, and agree to abide by these and the
Rules and Regulations of the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy.

Applicant’s Signature Date




INSTRUCTIONS FOR APPLICANTS FOR THE CPA EXAMINATION
(Effective October 19, 2013)

APPLICATION FORMS

Applications should be completed using ink or the typewriter. Complete all sections. The Board will not accept an incomplete application.
An application is not considered complete for an initial (first-time) applicant unless official transcripts are sent directly from the college(s) or
university(ies) to the State Board office. (Do not have transcripts sent prior to award of degree/completion of credits.) In addition, the
application must be signed and accompanied by a check or money order for the applicable fees. Reexamination candidates should not
apply for sections taken which they have not yet received examination grades.

Applicants who have previously taken the examination in another jurisdiction are considered initial (first-time) applications for Mississippi.
Applicants who have taken the examination in another jurisdiction (whether passed or not) must arrange for the transfer of their grades from
the original jurisdiction to the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy. Conditional credits will only be accepted by Mississippi
provided the state has equivalent standards and requirements. An Authorization for Interstate Exchange of Examination and Licensure Information
form will be required. This form is available from our website at: www.msbpa.state.ms.us.

APPLICATION FEES

The State Board requires all candidates to pay a nonrefundable application fee payable to the Mississippi State Board of Public
Accountancy (check or money order) with each application as follows:

Initial (first-time) $150.00

Examination 4 sections 135.00

Examination 3 sections 115.00

Examination 2 sections 95.00

Examination 1 section 75.00
AND

The following fees are collected by the Board and paid to the contract examination providers for the following examination sections:

AUD - Auditing & Attestation ~ $192.03

BEC - Business E & C 172.51
FAR - Financial Accounting 192.03
REG - Regulation 172.51

Applicants may apply for one or more sections of the examination at a time. Applications are active until the candidate sits for the applicable
section(s) but no longer than six months. Examination fees are nonrefundable. A candidate who fails to appear for an examination shall
forfeit all fees charged.

NOTICE TO TEST

Once your eligibility to take the exam is determined, the Mississippi Board will send an Authorization To Test (ATT) to the National
Candidate Database at NASBA. After verified, the candidate will be issued an official Notice To Schedule (NTS). The NTS will be valid for
the 6-month application period. Upon receipt of the NTS, candidates are required to contact Prometric (Sylvan) for site location(s) and test
times. A candidate may schedule at any qualified Prometric Testing Center. Mississippi currently has two testing centers:

Jackson #3605 Tupelo #3603 Hattiesburg - Ellisville #3606
Prometric Testing Center Prometric Testing Center Prometric Testing Center
1080 River Oaks Drive 618 Spicer Drive Jones County Junior College
Suite B-203 Suite A 72 Technology Blvd
Flowood, MS 39232 Tupelo, MS 38804 Ellisville, MS 39437

(601) 664-9960 (662) 844-2998 (601)578-3389

The Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy does not control space availability or locale of the testing centers. There are two options
for scheduling/rescheduling: (Refer to Candidate Bulletin.)

1. Use Prometric’s Internet scheduling tool located at www.prometric.com/cpa . The system is available 24 hours a day, seven days a
week.

2. Call the Candidate Services Call Center at 1-800-580-9648. The center is open Monday — Friday from 8:00am to 8:00pm Eastern
Time.




EXAMINATION SCHEDULE AND SECTIONS  Rules and Regulations Section 2.2.10.

The computerized CPA examination will be offered during the first two months of each calendar quarter. These months of testing are
referred to as a “Testing Window”. You will not be able to schedule a test for the “Down Months” in order to allow for system maintenance.
Following is the testing schedule:

Testing Window Down Month
January st — February 28th March

April Ist — May 31 June

July 1st — August 31st September
October 1st — November 30th December

As indicated, applicants will be allowed to apply for one or more section(s) of the examination at a time. A candidate may not re-take any
section of the examination during a testing window. It is important to plan accordingly; it is your responsibility to schedule the remaining
unpassed sections of the examination so you do not lose credit for previously passed sections. Please review the section titled “credit for
subjects after computerization of the CPA examination”.

Candidates should plan to report to their assigned examination site one hour before the start of each scheduled session. Detailed instructions
concerning scheduling to test will be included on the Notice To Schedule (NTS).

Section Length
Auditing and Attestation 4 hours
Business Environment and Concepts 3 hours
Financial Accounting and Reporting 4 hours
Regulation 3 hours

It is highly recommended that candidates visit the www.cpa-exam.org website to view the Uniform CPA Exam Tutorial to ensure familiarity
with the computerized format prior to sitting for the examination. Candidates should also view the Candidate Bulletin.

CANDIDATES WITH DISABILITIES

In accordance with the provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act, examination administration modifications are available for
candidates who qualify. Such candidates must obtain an official modification form from the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy.
Upon receipt of your requested accommodations, it will be considered and you will be notified in writing of the Board's decision.
Documentation of a disability and/or previous accommodations must be attached to the exam application. Candidates must complete and
submit this form every time that they apply for the examination and require special modifications. The completed forms must be returned to
the Mississippi State Board with all required documentation before scheduling.

EDUCATIONAL REQUIREMENTS Rules and Regulations Section 2.2.1.(a)

Candidates must have completed the educational requirements as required by law codified at Mississippi Code § 73-33-1 et. seq. and
Chapter 2 of the Board Rules and Regulations and in addition to the residency and good moral character requirements. Part of the
application includes completion of the education schedule. Your application will be considered incomplete if you have not completed
the schedule. Board staff will review your schedule against your transcripts to assure that you have the appropriate education to sit for the
CPA examination.

Official college transcripts must be ordered by the candidate to be sent directly to the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy from the
institutions. Approval will not be granted until all official transcripts have been received. IT IS THE RESPONSIBILITY OF THE
CANDIDATE TO ASSURE TRANSCRIPTS ARE RECEIVED TIMELY BY THE STATE BOARD OFFICE.

If your degree is from a foreign country you must have it evaluated by a foreign credentialing service in addition to submittal of an official
foreign transcript to the Board office. The evaluation must schedule in detail and certify that the education requirements have been met. It
will be reviewed by the Board for acceptability as equivalent to an accredited institution. Contact the board office for acceptable evaluation
providers.




EXAMINATION CREDIT Rules and Regulations Section 2.2.10.

Upon implementation of the computer based CPA examination, a candidate may take the required test sections individually and in any order.
The passing grade for each section is 75. Candidates who pass a section will be granted credit for the section passed.

Credit for any test section(s) passed shall be valid for eighteen (18) months from the actual date the candidate took that test section(s),
without having to attain a minimum score on any failed test section(s) and without regard to whether the candidate has taken other test
sections, provided that:

1. Candidates must pass all four test sections of the CPA examination within a rolling eighteen (18) month period, which begins on the
date that the first test section(s) is passed;

2. Candidates cannot retake a failed test section(s) in the same examination window; and

3. Candidates who do not pass all four sections of the CPA examination within the rolling eighteen (18) month period shall lose credit
for any test section(s) passed outside the eighteen (18) month period, and those test section(s) must be retaken.

NAME OR ADDRESS CHANGES

Any name or address change must be reported in writing to the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy with official documentation
(copy of marriage certificate or legal documentation). Be sure to include your social security number and file number on any correspondence
with the Board.

PROOF OF RESIDENCY Rules and Regulations Section 2.2.1.(b)

Factors normally considered by the Board in determining residency are as follows:

Place of registration as a voter

Vehicle registration and tags

Filing of Mississippi State Resident Income Tax Returns

Qualifying for Homestead Exemption in Mississippi and payment of real estate taxes to this state
Graduation from a Mississippi university or college.

A
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