Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy Continuing Professional Education Compliance Period Ending June 30, 2014
You will be required to log on through the MSBPA website using your Board File Number, which will be sent to you by Board letter in June 2014. The secure logon link or URL of the MSBPA CPE Portal can be accessed by clicking here:
Online Reporting of continuing professional education (CPE) for the twelve months ending June 30, 2014, will be available beginning mid-June, 2014. You must log on to the Board CPE Reporting Portal and enter your individual CPE courses and hours earned in the current compliance period (from July 1, 2013, through June 30, 2014). Next you will enter your total CPE hours carried-in from prior periods (60 hours maximum). After electronically signing the CPE report, your 2014 CPE data will be securely transmitted to MSBPA. Please print or save a copy of the completed CPE report for your records. You may log back on to add additional hours or to correct errors.
Reporting Due Date
Your online CPE Reporting at the Mississippi State Board of Public Accountancy CPE Portal is due on or before August 1, 2014.
Continuing Professional Education Requirements
The CPE compliance requirement for the twelve months ending June 30, 2014, is a minimum forty (40) CPE credit hours. Only twenty (20) hours of CPE credit hours carried-in may be applied to the forty hour requirement. The other 20 hours must be earned in the current compliance period (“20 hour minimum rule”). Chapter 4 of the Rules and Regulations and the Board’s website provide complete CPE compliance information.
Ethics CPE: Four (4) CPE credit hours in Ethics, Professional Conduct, Public Accountancy Law and Regulations [ethics] must be earned and reported for the triennial period July 1, 2013, through June 30, 2016. A minimum of one (1) of these ethics CPE credit hours must be in the Mississippi Public Accountancy Law, Rules and Regulations.
These ethics CPE credit hours must be Board approved in order for a CPA to retain the credit. Any ethics hours previously reported to the Board as ethics CPE is deemed used and will not count toward hours carried-in to 2014. Ethics CPE, earned in the current period, but not approved by the Board, will not satisfy your ethics CPE requirement. In order to have hours qualify as ethics CPE, an approval request should be submitted to the Board by either the CPE sponsor or the individual CPA.
The Application for CPE Program Approval can be found at this link:
The Board’s listing of approved ethics CPE programs for the triennial period July 1, 2013, through June 30, 2016, can be found at this link:
In accordance the Board Rules and Regulations, a CPA will not be permitted to register a license if not in compliance with the CPE requirements. In addition, a CPA must report CPE to the Board online even if the number reported is zero. A blank online CPE reporting form will be interpreted as zero CPE credit hours. Please be aware that a CPA who fails to complete and report the minimum CPE credit hours accrued during the applicable reporting period could be subject to Trial Board disciplinary action.
Please call the Board office should you have any questions about online CPE reporting or about CPE compliance.
Telephone: 601-354-7320, or 601-354-7291